Spectre – trailer review

I find myself rather conflicted when viewing the new trailer for Spectre, the latest addition to the Bond series. I’m still not entirely sure what to make of it. Certainly all of the elements are there: a great cast, an intelligent director and a number of high-octane explosion sequences. And yet, I find myself underwhelmed.

Craig is, for me, indisputably the best Bond, so I certainly won’t dwell on his ability here as I rather think that the furore over his casting is long gone. Instead, for me, I find myself disappointed by the franchise’s determination to still maintain links to the traditional series.  With so many excellent action films released over the past decade (the Bourne series for a start) Bond’s flagrant reliance on attractive women, supposedly pithy one-liners and the binary opposite of good and evil simply feels rather tired.

I hope that I will be proven wrong, but I’m yet to be convinced.

Leave a Reply

